This post has already been read 2833 times!

Type O Negative – October Rust


October Rust is the fourth album by Type O Negative. It was released in 1996. This is the first album with Johnny Kelly credited as the band’s drummer. October Rust has more ballads and less of the doom metal sound of previous or subsequent albums. It also features a much heavier cover of Neil Young’s “Cinnamon Girl.”

It is the first of the band’s albums with a “joke intro”; in this case, the intro, “Bad Ground”, is 38 seconds of low-level buzzing, meant to sound as if the listener’s speakers are incorrectly plugged in. The second and fifteenth tracks are humorous untitled intros and outros to the album, respectively, with the band downplaying the recording of the album. Another production technique employed on the album is the use of very abrupt endings and segues to a few of the songs, like “Green Man”, “Red Water” and “Haunted”.

Track listing

1. “Bad Ground” – 0:38
2. “Love You to Death” – 7:08
3. “Be My Druidess” – 5:25
4. “Green Man” – 5:47
5. “Red Water (Christmas Mourning)” – 6:48
6. “My Girlfriend’s Girlfriend” – 3:46
7. “Die With Me” – 7:12
8. “Burnt Flowers Fallen” – 6:09
9. “In Praise of Bacchus” – 7:36
10. “Cinnamon Girl” – 4:00
11. “The Glorious Liberation of the People’s Technocratic Republic of Vinnland by the Combined Forces of the United Territories of Europa” – 1:07
12. “Wolf Moon (Including Zoanthropic Paranoia)” – 6:37
13. “Haunted” – 10:07

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.