This post has already been read 4061 times!

Slipknot – All Hope Is Gone


All Hope Is Gone is the fourth studio album by American metal band Slipknot. Released on August 20, 2008. Preparation for the album began in 2007, while recording started in February 2008 in the band’s home state of Iowa. Before the album’s launch, Slipknot released a series of promotional images and audio samples from the album through various websites. All Hope Is Gone is considered the band’s most eclectic-sounding album, incorporating elements from their previous three. Songs such as the opening track “Gematria (The Killing Name)” and the title track espouse the band’s more brutal, death metal-influenced edge, reminiscent of songs such as “(sic)” from their debut self-titled album; slow burning, “trippy” elements such as “Gehenna”, reminiscent of “Skin Ticket” from their second album Iowa; and more tragic, sentimental tracks such as “Dead Memories” and “Snuff”.

Lyrically, All Hope Is Gone centers on themes such as anger, disaffection, obsession, and the music industry. The album name also features a more prominent focus on politics than their previous albums. Slipknot promoted All Hope Is Gone on a world tour and at the Mayhem Festival. It is the final studio album released by the band to include two longtime members: bassist and founding member Paul Gray, who was found dead in an Iowa hotel on May 24, 2010, almost two years after the release of All Hope Is Gone, and drummer Joey Jordison, who departed from the group in December 2013.


Track listing

1. “.execute.” – 1:50
2. “Gematria (The Killing Name)” – 6:03
3. “Sulfur” – 4:39
4. “Psychosocial” – 4:45
5. “Dead Memories” – 4:30
6. “Vendetta” – 5:17
7. “Butcher’s Hook” – 4:16
8. “Gehenna” – 6:53
9. “This Cold Black” – 4:42
10. “Wherein Lies Continue” – 5:38
11. “Snuff” – 4:36
12. “All Hope Is Gone” – 4:47

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.