This post has already been read 3782 times!

Motörhead – Overkill

Overkill is the second studio album by the band Motörhead, released 24 March 1979, their first with the label, and it peaked at #24 on the UK charts. Kerrang! magazine listed the album at #46 among the “100 Greatest Heavy Metal Albums of All Time”.

Joe Petagno, the sleeve artist, had this to say about the cover of the album, which he felt rushed into because the band could not find him:

                                 “..I had about a week and a half to get it finished… But it was always a disappointment for me, personally. It should have been multi-layered. It was supposed to have a feeling that there was more to it, there were going to be more bits and pieces. In a way, I kind of did it on the Inferno thing. I sort of took my revenge on the new trinity. In a way..”

Track listing

Side A

1. “Overkill” – 5:12
2. “Stay Clean” – 2:40
3. “(I Won’t) Pay Your Price” – 2:56
4. “I’ll Be Your Sister” – 2:51
5. “Capricorn” – 4:06
Side B

6. “No Class” – 2:39
7. “Damage Case” – 2:59
8. “Tear Ya Down” – 2:39
9. “Metropolis” – 3:34
10. “Limb from Limb” – 4:54

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.