This post has already been read 11421 times!

Megadeth – Rust in Peace

Rust in Peace is the fourth studio album by the American thrash metal band Megadeth, released on September 24, 1990. Following the departure of band members Jeff Young and Chuck Behler in 1989, Rust in Peace was the first album to feature guitarist Marty Friedman and drummer Nick Menza. Rust in Peace received universal acclaim from fans and critics, and was responsible for bringing Megadeth to the attention of a mainstream metal audience. It has been cited as one of the best thrash metal records of all time and listed as one of the 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die. The album was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Metal Performance at the 33rd Grammy Awards.

Two singles were released from the album: “Hangar 18” and “Holy Wars…The Punishment Due”, which have become staples of the band’s live performances. Rust in Peace features complex musical structures and lyrical themes such as nuclear war and UFOs. The album’s cover art references “Hangar 18”.

“Rust in Peace…Polaris”, addresses the topic of nuclear warfare, with “Polaris” referring to the Cold War-era. The opening song, “Holy Wars…The Punishment Due” finds its thematic inspiration derived from the Northern Ireland conflict.  Rust in Peace features songs with multiple sections, shifting time signatures and intricate guitar performance, and is sometimes described as having a progressive style. In this regard, the album has been compared with Metallica’s 1988 album.

Track listing
1. “Holy Wars…The Punishment Due” – 6:36
2. “Hangar 18” – 5:14
3. “Take No Prisoners” – 3:28
4. “Five Magics” – 5:42
5. “Poison Was the Cure” – 2:58
6. “Lucretia” – 3:58
7. “Tornado of Souls” – 5:22
8. “Dawn Patrol” – 1:50
9. “Rust in Peace…Polaris” – 5:36

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.