This post has already been read 8502 times!

Megadeth – Killing Is My Business… and Business Is Good!

Killing Is My Business… and Business Is Good! is the debut studio album by the American thrash metal band Megadeth released on June 12, 1985.  After spending half of the album’s budget on drugs, alcohol and food, the band was forced to fire their original producer and produce the album themselves. Despite the resulting poor production, the album was a well-received effort that obtained strong reviews in various music publications. Killing Is My Business… and Business Is Good! played an essential role in establishing thrash metal as an authentic subgenre of heavy metal music. It explores themes of death, violence, and occultism.

The album’s artwork, featuring a plastic skull with tinfoil, was not intended to be the original artwork. The album features a controversial cover of “These Boots Are Made for Walkin'” and the track “Mechanix”, a song frontman Dave Mustaine originally wrote for Metallica. It features vastly different artwork, with its cover based on the version originally designed by Mustaine in 1985. All songs from the album were performed frequently during Megadeth’s initial tour but have been steadily dropped from the setlist since.

Track listing

Side one

1. “Last Rites/Loved to Deth” – 4:38
2. “Killing Is My Business… and Business Is Good!” – 3:05
3. “The Skull Beneath the Skin” – 3:46
4. “These Boots” – 3:44
Side two

5. “Rattlehead” – 3:42
6. “Chosen Ones” – 2:54
7. “Looking Down the Cross” – 5:01
8. “Mechanix” – 4:20

Alternative cover

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.