This post has already been read 7182 times!

Megadeth – So Far, So Good… So What!

So Far, So Good… So What! is the third studio album by the American thrash metal band Megadeth, released on January 19, 1988. It is the band’s only album recorded with drummer Chuck Behler and guitarist Jeff Young, both of whom were fired immediately after its subsequent tour. So Far, So Good… So What! features music performed at very fast tempos with technical ability; lyrically, frontman and guitarist Dave Mustaine addresses a variety of topics, including nuclear holocaust and freedom of speech.

So Far, So Good… So What! displays music performed at “volumes approaching the threshold of pain”. “Set the World Afire” is the first song Dave Mustaine wrote for Megadeth after being fired from Metallica. “502” is about driving fast cars. “In My Darkest Hour” was written by Mustaine shortly after the death of Metallica bassist Cliff Burton. Mustaine had found out through word of mouth, as his former bandmates never contacted him about the tragic event that occurred in Europe. He later recalled that he was extremely unhappy that day and wrote the song in one sitting. “Liar” is a rant directed at past member Chris Poland. “Hook in Mouth” declaims censorship and the Parents Music Resource Center (PMRC). Mustaine elaborated that the lyrics were aimed at those who were “fucking around with our constitutional rights and trying to take away our freedom of speech”.

Track listing
1. “Into the Lungs of Hell” (instrumental) – 3:29
2. “Set the World Afire” – 5:48
3. “Anarchy in the U.K.” (Sex Pistols cover) – 3:00
4. “Mary Jane” – 4:25
5. “502” – 3:28
6. “In My Darkest Hour” – 6:16
7. “Liar” – 3:20
8. “Hook in Mouth” – 4:40

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.