This post has already been read 1902 times!

Iron Maiden – The X Factor

The X Factor is the tenth studio album by English heavy metal band Iron Maiden, released on 2 October 1995. It is the first of two albums by the band to include Blaze Bayley, formerly of Wolfsbane, as vocalist, replacing Bruce Dickinson who left the band following their previous tour to pursue a solo career. The album takes a darker tone than the band’s first nine releases, due to the lyrics being based on personal issues surrounding Steve Harris at the time, who was in the midst of a divorce. This is reflected in the cover artwork, which graphically depicts the band’s mascot, Eddie, being vivisected by machine.

“Man on the Edge” and “Lord of the Flies” were released as singles. Both of these songs, and “Sign of the Cross,” remained in Iron Maiden set lists following Bruce Dickinson’s return. “The Edge of Darkness” is based on the 1979 film Apocalypse Now, adapted from Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness, “Man on the Edge” is based on the 1993 movie, Falling Down, and “Lord of the Flies” is based on the William Golding novel of the same name.

Track listing

1. “Sign of the Cross” – 11:18
2. “Lord of the Flies” – 5:04
3. “Man on the Edge” – 4:13
4. “Fortunes of War” – 7:24
5. “Look for the Truth” – 5:10
6. “The Aftermath” – 6:21
7. “Judgement of Heaven” – 5:12
8. “Blood on the World’s Hands” – 5:58
9. “The Edge of Darkness” – 6:39
10. “2 A.M.” – 5:38
11. “The Unbeliever” – 8:10


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.