This post has already been read 16006 times!

Holy Diver is the debut album by American heavy metal band Dio, released in May 25, 1983. Vocalist Ronnie James Dio had just finished his first tenure in Black Sabbath, whose drummer Vinny Appice he took with him to put together his own band. The roster was completed by his former band mate in Rainbow Jimmy Bain on bass and by the young guitarist Vivian Campbell, coming from the NWOBHM band Sweet Savage.  The cover features the band mascot. Around the time of making the album, a rise of heroic adventure elements in popular culture (such as J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings books and role-playing games Dungeons & Dragons) were having influence.

Dio - Holy Diver
Dio – Holy Diver

Track listing
All lyrics written by Ronnie James Dio, music as stated.

Side one

1. “Stand Up and Shout” – 3:18
2. “Holy Diver” – 5:51
3. “Gypsy” – 3:39
4. “Caught in the Middle” – 4:14
5. “Don’t Talk to Strangers” – 4:53

Side two

6. “Straight Through the Heart” – 4:31
7. “Invisible” – 5:24
8. “Rainbow in the Dark” – 4:15
9. “Shame on the Night” – 5:19

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.