This post has already been read 10240 times!

Megadeth – Peace Sells… but Who’s Buying?

Peace Sells… but Who’s Buying? is the second studio album and major label debut by the American thrash metal band Megadeth, released on September 19, 1986. The recording of the album was difficult for the band, because of the ongoing drug issues the members had at the time. This was the last Megadeth album to feature drummer Gar Samuelson and guitarist Chris Poland, who were fired shortly after the album’s promotional tour for drug abuse. The title track, noted for its politically conscious lyrics, was released as the album’s lead single.

Peace Sells… but Who’s Buying? is regarded as a thrash metal classic and as an album that gave prominence to extreme metal. It has been featured in several publications’ best album lists, including Robert Dimery’s 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die and Martin Popoff’s Top 500 Heavy Metal Albums of All Time. The album has been reissued several times over the years. In 2004, the album was remixed and remastered by Megadeth frontman Dave Mustaine. In 2011, the three different versions were reissued as part of the album’s 25th anniversary celebration. All of them, with the exception of the 2004 mixes, feature new remastering. The album’s cover art, featuring the band’s mascot Vic Rattlehead in front of a desolated United Nations Headquarters, was created by Ed Repka.

Track listing

Side one

1. “Wake Up Dead” – 3:40
2. “The Conjuring” – 5:04
3. “Peace Sells” – 4:04
4. “Devils Island” – 5:05
Side two

5. “Good Mourning/Black Friday” – 6:41
6. “Bad Omen” – 4:05
7. “I Ain’t Superstitious” – 2:46
8. “My Last Words” – 4:57

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.