This post has already been read 6813 times!

Megadeth – Cryptic Writings

Cryptic Writings is the seventh studio album by American thrash metal band Megadeth. Released on June 17, 1997, it was the band’s last studio album to feature drummer Nick Menza. His departure would mark the end of the band’s longest lasting lineup to date, having recorded four studio albums. The album features 12 tracks with accessible song structures, specifically aimed for radio airplay. The lyrics were also altered, in order to make the music more inclusive for wider audience. These changes were met with mixed opinions from music critics, who noted the band moving away from their thrash metal roots.

The song “Trust” was nominated for a “Best Metal Performance” at the 1998 Grammy Awards and became the band’s highest charting song on the Billboard’s Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks. The symbol depicted on the cover is a veve, a voodoo sign. According to Ellefson, the original concept for the album’s cover was very different, however, it was changed at the last minute. The title derives from a lyric in “Use the Man”.

Track listing
1. “Trust” – 5:11
2. “Almost Honest” – 4:02
3. “Use the Man” – 4:35
4. “Mastermind” – 3:48
5. “The Disintegrators” – 2:50
6. “I’ll Get Even” – 4:23
7. “Sin” – 3:06
8. “A Secret Place” – 5:29
9. “Have Cool, Will Travel” – 3:28
10. “She-Wolf” – 3:36
11. “Vortex” – 3:38
12. “FFF” – 2:38

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.